Aug 14 2008

The Quick Way To Trash SharePoint

Published by at 11:52 pm under Programming

This is an old article and the information contained within it may be out of date, not reflect my current views and/or contain broken links. If you feel this article is still valid and requires updating, you can use the contact form to let me know. However, I make no guarantee that it will get updated.

I have just leant the hard way that you should always check the name you have given your feature before deploying it to a server.

Quite stupidly I created several features, at least two of which I now know conflicted with existing SharePoint features.  I used the xcopy method of deploying the feature on my local dev machine with the “/Y? switch to suppress prompts when over-writing existing files, so at the time I didn’t realise what I had done.

It was only when I can to create a new site collection that everything call falling down.  I’m currently downloading the SharePoint installation DVD from Microsoft in the hopes that a re-install will fix the problems.

From now on I’m going to be prefixing all features I create with the clients name.  This will provide two benefits:

  1. It will greatly reduce the risk of a feature name conflict.
  2. It will group all the directories together in explorer for easier deletion.

One response so far